Billy Strings and Allison Russell had been two of the highest winners at the 2022 Americana Honors & Awards, held Wednesday at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Strings gained Artist of the Year for the primary time, whereas Russell was awarded Album of the Year for her acclaimed solo debut Outside Child.

Strings was beforehand nominated for Emerging Act of the Year at the Americana Awards in 2020, however finally misplaced out to Black Pumas. In the final two years, his rise has been speedy and he’s discovered a cross part of followers from the bluegrass and jam-band worlds. His dwell exhibits have additionally grow to be an enormous draw, nimbly veering between sizzling bluegrass selecting and psychedelic instrumental explorations.

Russell, in the meantime, drew on her traumatic upbringing and abuse for Outside Child, fearlessly chronicling her struggling alongside along with her unflagging resilience and hope. The Dan Knobler-produced venture ended up on quite a few 2021 favorite-albums lists.

Past Artist of the Year winner Brandi Carlile was awarded Song of the Year for “Right on Time” from her album In These Silent Days. 2019 Emerging Act of the Year the War and Treaty added to their accolades, profitable Duo/Group of the Year. Rising bluegrass star Sierra Ferrell was named Emerging Act of the Year, and musician Larissa Maestro was named Instrumentalist of the Year.

Here is the complete checklist of winners from the 2022 Americana Honors & Awards, together with special honorees the Fairfield Four, Don Williams, Chris Isaak, Al Bell, and Indigo Girls.

Album of the Year: Outside Child, Allison Russell; Produced by Dan Knobler

Artist of the Year: Billy Strings

Song of the Year: “Right on Time,” Brandi Carlile; Written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth

Duo/Group of the Year: The War and Treaty

Emerging Act of the Year: Sierra Ferrell

Instrumentalist of the Year: Larissa Maestro

Legacy of Americana Award, offered in partnership with the National Museum of African American Music: Fairfield Four

President’s Award: Don Williams (posthumous) 

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance: Chris Isaak

Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: Al Bell

Spirit of Americana Award: Indigo Girls

: .