Duo share 4 tracks comprising the challenge’s first motion

Dawn Richard, the ever-inventive New Orleans artist, has linked up with multi-instrumentalist Spencer Zahn for a brand new album, Pigments, set to reach Oct. 21 through Merge Records.

Pigments is described as one lengthy composition full of numerous actions that mix jazz, classical, and ambient parts collectively. To preview the album, Richard and Zahn shared the 4 songs that comprise the album’s first motion, “Coral,” “Sandstone,” “Indigo,” and “Vantablack.” The latter monitor arrives with a music video that marks Dawn’s directorial debut. 

In a press release, Richard stated the narrative that got here out of the album’s songs was about “somebody portray with damaged brushes.” She continued, “I felt just like the instruments that I and different folks like me have been dealt weren’t shiny. Yet we nonetheless painted these lovely photos. This album is what it means to be a dreamer and lastly attain a spot the place you’ve determined to like the pigments that you’ve.”

Zahn and Richard crafted Pigments

with the assistance of a number of musicians, together with Stuart Bogie, Mike Haldeman, Malcolm Parson, Dave Scalia, Kirk Schoenherr, Jas Walton, and Doug Wiselman. The album follows Richard’s celebrated 2021 effort, Second Line, whereas Zahn’s most up-to-date solo challenge, Pale Horizon, arrived in May. Richard and Zahn beforehand labored collectively on the latter’s 2018 album, People of the Dawn

Pigments Track List

1. “Coral”
2. “Sandstone”
3. “Indigo”
4. “Vantablack”
5. “Sienna”
6. “Cerulean”
7. “Opal”
8. “Saffron”
9. “Saffron”
10. “Cobalt”
11. “Umber.”

: .