Directors Amandine Fredon and Benjamin Massoubre take residence the highest prize for his or her animated movie Little Nicholas–Happy as Can Be on the annual Annecy International Animation Film Festival in France. 

Co-produced French/Luxembourg movie takes place in the direction of the tip of the1950s in Paris, René Goscinny (voiced by Alain Chabat) and Jean-Jacques Sempé (voiced by Laurent Lafitte) invented the character Nicholas, a small boy and prankster with a smile on his face whose days are punctuated by video games together with his band of buddies, fights, joking round, and studying.  When the fictional character is invited into the workshop of his “dads,” the roles are reversed, and it’s the creators who recount their childhoods, their careers, and their friendship to Little Nicholas.

In 2021, Flee received high prize on the Annecy competition after which went on to seize three Oscar nominations, with one being for finest animated movie. Will Little Nicholas observe in the identical path? 

Here are the award profitable movies at this yr’s competition:


Cristal For Feature Film
Little Nicholas – Happy as Can Be Le Petit Nicolas
Dir. Amandine Fredon FREDON, Benjamin Massoubre

Jury Award
Interdit aux chiens et aux Italiens
Dir. Alain Ughetto

Jury Distinction
My Love Affair With Marriage
Dir.  Signe Baumane 

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
Dir. Pierre Foldes

Gan Foundation Award for Distribution
Interdit aux chiens et aux Italiens  
Dir. Alain Ughetto

Contrechamp Award
Dozens of Norths (Ikuta no Kita)
Dir. Koji Yamamura

Contrechamp Jury Distinction
Chun Tae-il: A Flame That Lives On  
Dir. Jun-pyo Hong 


Cristal for a brief movie
Dir. Balázs Turai 

Jury Award
Dir. Spela Cadez 

Jury Distinction “For its fantastically crafted animation and its nice bodily expertise”
Anxious Body
Dir. Yoriko Mizushiri 

Jean-Luc Xiberras Award for first movie

The Record
Dir. Jonathan Laskar 

Off Limits Award


Dir. Dirk Koy 


Cristal for a TV Production

My Year of Dicks 
Dir. Sara Gunnardottir 

Jury Award for a TV collection

Dos Pajaritos
Dir. Alejo Schettini, Alfredo Soderguit

Jury Award for a TV Special
The House
Dir. Emma De Swaef, Marc James Roels, Niki Lindroth Von Bahr, Paloma Baeza 

Cristal for a commissioned movie
Save Ralph
Dir. Spencer Susser 

Jury Award for a commissioned movie
Dir. Wes Anderson 


Cristal for a Graduation Film
Dir. Sujin Moon

Jury Award
A Dog Under A Bridge
Dir. Rehoo Tang 

Jury Distinction
Maman il a quoi le chien?
Dir. Lola Lefevre


Cristal for the Best VR Work
Dir. Benjamin Cleary, Michael O’ Connor 

Jury Distinction
Goliath: Playing With Reality
Dir. Barry Gene Murphy, May Abdalla

: .