Kenan Thompson’s first time hosting the Emmys proved that the “Saturday Night Live” veteran is prepared for prime time — regardless of his one-and-done NBC sitcom, “Kenan.”

Thompson, the longest-tenured “SNL” trouper (19 seasons and counting), offered a certain, guiding, self-deprecating hand and deftly stored the Emmy-cast prepare rolling — whereas staying as far beneath the radar as applicable to permit the night time’s winners to bask of their moments of glory.

Thompson did, in fact, take part within the ordinary — contractually obligated — awkward opening phase. This yr, it riffed on “legally cleared TV songs” and Thompson showed some fierce dance moves becoming a member of the fleet-footed ensemble that strutted to theme songs from, amongst others, “Friends,” “Game of Thrones” and “The Brady Bunch” (with Thompson changing Alice in that present’s iconic montage).

Kenan Thompson did a nice job hosting the 74th Primetime Emmys Monday night, which saw Sheryl Lee Ralph ("Abbott Elementary") and Lee Jung-jae ("Squid Game") win big.
Kenan Thompson did a pleasant job internet hosting the 74th Primetime Emmys Monday night time, which noticed Sheryl Lee Ralph (“Abbott Element ary”) and Lee Jung-jae (“Squid Game”) win big.
NBC through Getty Images; Los Angele
Emmys host Kenan Thompson in the show's awkward opening segment. He's wearing a tux and tails and a tophat and is dancing on the stage.
Emmys host Kenan Thompson within the present’s awkward opening phase.

Later within the telecast, he launched the accountants from Ernst & Young — then promptly shooed them off the stage. Funny stuff. (And, actually, why are the accountants a factor yearly?)

“Squid Game” was an enormous winner Monday night time, snagging statuettes for director Hwang Dong-hyuk and lead actor Lee Jung-jae — each turning into the primary foreign-language winners within the present’s 74-year historical past.

Lizzo accepting her Emmy award. She's wearing a bright red dress and talking into the microphone and holding her Emmy in her left hand.
Lizzo made an emotional speech accepting her Emmy for “Watch Out For the Big Grrrls.”
AFP through Getty Images

Follow our up-to-the-minute protection of TV’s greatest night time:

ABC’s “Abbott Elementary” additionally received big, each for creator/star Quinta Brunson and co-star Sheryl Lee Ralph, a uncommon double victory for a broadcast community tv collection.

Ralph’s statuette for Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy statuette was a primary for the veteran actress — and she or he belted out lyrics from Dianne Reeves’ tune “Endangered Species” in her dramatic acceptance speech that left the viewers within the Microsoft Theater in LA questioning what was coming subsequent.

Lizzo made a equally emotional speech accepting her Emmy for “Watch Out For the Big Grrrls.”

"The White Lotus" winner Jennifer Coolidge ignored her walkoff music and refused to depart the stage.
“The White Lotus” winner Jennifer Coolidge ignored her walk-off music and refused to depart the stage.
AFP through Getty Images
Rhea Seehorn as Kim Wexler in "Better Call Saul." It's a black-and-white photo and Kim is standing in an office holding a clipboard.
Rhea Seehorn ought to have received Best Supporting Actress in a Drama however was edged out by Julia Garner (“Ozark”).
Greg Lewis/AMC/Sony Pictures Television

Also victorious was “The White Lotus,” which received three Emmys. Jennifer Coolidge, lastly getting her statuette,” refused to heed her annoying walk-off music (“I’m gradual!”) and boogied down as a substitute.

“Ted Lasso” scored 4, together with for Best Comedy, whereas “Succession” took dwelling the trophy for Best Drama.

The greatest snub of the night time? That could be Rhea Seehorn, who turned in a career-defining role as Kim Wexler in “Better Call Saul” and was robbed of a statuette for Supporting Actress in a Drama Series class (dropping to “Ozark” co-star Julia Garner).

But worst of all might need been the condescending textual content bug at the underside of the display telling us what the winners need to say — and who they need to thank (“Lizzo want to say …”).

Was that actually obligatory? Seems to me the winners had been completely able to thanking everybody they wished to, even with their straitjacketed time constraints.

: .